COVID-19 What You Need to Know | COVID-19 Response Fund

X

Home - National Multiple Sclerosis Society

Skip to navigation Skip to content
National MS Society National MS Society

 

                                                                       
 
view as web page  |  unsubscribe from emails
 

MS Clinical Care Connection
A Resource for Healthcare Professionals

AAN Disease Modifying Therapy Guideline
The American Academy of Neurology (AAN) published a practice guideline for the use of disease modifying therapies for adults with multiple sclerosis. The guideline addresses starting, switching and stopping disease modifying therapies for adults with clinically isolated syndrome, relapsing-remitting MS and progressive forms of MS. The full guideline and summaries are available online. Watch this video from the AAN to learn more.
From CMSC 2018
The 32nd Annual Meeting of the Consortium of MS Centers took place in Nashville, TN from May 30 to June 2. Highlights of presentations from the meeting include:

Cognition - The use of a self-administered computerized tool to assess cognitive function in two minutes during routine clinic visits.
Medical Marijuana - The need for healthcare professionals to have more information and be better equipped to field questions on the use of medical marijuana in MS.
Stem Cells - Warnings for healthcare professionals to educate their patients on stem cell procedures that offer no potential for efficacy.
Depression - New data that demonstrates physical exercise is comparable to drug and behavioral therapies for treating depression in MS.

For a more detailed review of the 32nd Annual Meeting, please listen to our webinar.
Gadolinium Safety News
The FDA requires new class warnings for gadolinium-based contrast agents (GBCAs) reflecting evidence of brain deposits after exposure. Some GBCA’s are more likely to be retained than others. GBCAs that are excreted more completely and quickly include Dotarem®, Gadavist® and ProHance®.

The Consortium of MS Centers (CMSC) updated their MRI Protocol and Clinical Guidelines for the Diagnosis and Follow-up of MS to reflect these safety concerns and outline when using a GBCA is essential and when it is optional.
Pediatric MS
The first drug for the treatment of pediatric MS has been approved by the FDA. Fingolimod (Gilenya®) is now indicated for the use in relapsing forms of MS for children and teens ages 10 and older. Read more about this important breakthrough in our Society news.
Upcoming Conferences
The Society will be exhibiting at the following professional conferences this summer. If you plan on attending, please stop by the Society booth.
National Black Nurses Association Annual Conference – July 31- Aug. 5 in St Louis, MO
National Association Hispanic Nurses Annual Conference – July 31- Aug. 3 in Cleveland, OH
American Psychological Association Annual Convention – Aug. 9 -12 in San Francisco, CA
National Medical Association Convention and Scientific Assembly – Aug. 11-15 in Orlando, FL
Paralyzed Veterans of America Annual Health Care Summit – Aug. 28-30 in Dallas, TX
Professional Education Opportunities
Discuss approaches and solutions to challenging cases.
Mental Health

July 26 – 9 a.m. PT/ 10 a.m. MT/ 11 a.m. CT/ 12 p.m. ET

To register, contact Andrea.Arzt@nmss.org.
Advanced MS Management

Sept. 25 – 8 a.m. PT/ 9 a.m. MT/10 a.m. CT / 11 a.m. ET
Current Topics in MS: Implications for Practice

Sept. 19 – 4 p.m. PT/ 5 p.m. MT/ 6 p.m. CT/ 7 p.m. ET

View the calendar for additional opportunities.
Best MS App of 2018 for Healthcare Providers – download or update now

Information at your fingertips about MS diagnosis, disease and symptom management. iPhone or Android

If you would like additional information or resources, please contact us at healthprof_info@nmss.org.
The National MS Society supports MS healthcare professionals through professional publications, tools and materials, as well as resources to share with patients and their families. Our information and resources are designed to help people affected by MS live their best lives—in partnership with all of the members of the MS comprehensive healthcare team.
MS News  |  Join the Community  |  Find an Event  |  Advocate for Change  |  In Your Area